It's a giant game day!

Belfast Giants play the Coventry Blaze
TONIGHT at 7PM — Miss it / miss out!

Official website of the Stena Line Belfast Giants

Shields, Murphy & Garside Named In Team GB Squad For Belfast

Colin Shields, Stephen Murphy and Mark Garside have been named in the Team GB squad ahead of the 2017 World Championship in Belfast which begins on Sunday 23rd April. The three Giants will feature in the 23-man squad who will play in the first men’s World Championship in the UK for 25 years.

Belfast’s SSE Arena will host the six-team IIHF World Championship Division 1 Group B from 23rd to 29th April. Click here for information on how to buy tickets for the tournament.

GB will come up against Japan who were relegated from Division 1 Group A last year and Division 2 Group A gold-medal winners Netherlands, as well as last year’s opponents Croatia, Estonia, Lithuania.

There are first World Championship call-ups for Brendan Brooks and 18-year-old Sam Duggan, while Josh Batch, Luke Ferrara, Jack Prince, Zach Sullivan and Ross Venus are released from the squad.

Liam Stewart is set to make his first World Championship appearance after being named in the 2015 squad in the Netherlands, but had to pull out because of injury.

Evan Mosey will fly in from North America this week to link-up with the squad for the rest of the training camp, before they depart for Belfast on Thursday.

GB warmed-up for the World Championship with two games against Poland this weekend, with the Poles winning 4-1 in Nottingham on Friday before Britain won 5-4 after penalty shots on Saturday in Coventry.

Russell said: “Cutting the squad is never easy but I believe we have a fantastic 23 players who want to create some history next week.

“We have great balance across the squad and I think we will be very competitive.

“We know that the aim is the gold medal and there will be pressure on us to perform, but I believe we have the right group of players.

“The players will experience something a generation of players haven’t been able to do by playing a tournament on home ice.

“Everyone is so focused and excited about the challenges ahead.”

Ben Bowns – Cardiff Devils
Stephen Murphy – Stena Line Belfast Giants
Thomas Murdy – Cardiff Devils (reserve)

Mark Garside – Stena Line Belfast Giants
Steve Lee – Nottingham Panthers
Ben O’Connor – Sheffield Steelers
David Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Mark Richardson – Cardiff Devils
Paul Swindlehurst – Manchester Storm
Jonathan Weaver – Telford Tigers

Brendan Brooks – Fife Flyers
David Clarke – Nottingham Panthers
Russell Cowley – Coventry Blaze
Robert Dowd – Sheffield Steelers
Sam Duggan – Orebro (Sweden)
Robert Farmer – Nottingham Panthers
Robert Lachowicz – Nottingham Panthers
Evan Mosey – Rockford Ice Hogs (USA)
Matthew Myers – Cardiff Devils
Craig Peacock – Braehead Clan
Jonathan Phillips – Sheffield Steelers
Colin Shields – Stena Line Belfast Giants
Liam Stewart – Coventry Blaze

Photo: Scott Wiggins