It's a giant game day!

Belfast Giants play the
TONIGHT at 1AM — Miss it / miss out!

Official website of the Stena Line Belfast Giants

New Elite League Format For 2017/18 Season

The Elite Ice Hockey League have announced the changes to the league and Challenge Cup format as a result of the addition to Milton Keynes Lightning and Guildford Flames.

Changes to the structure were ratified at an EIHL Board Meeting which sees the previous two Conference system of five teams each replaced with three Conferences, containing four teams apiece.

The Challenge Cup also has the same format, but teams’ respective opposition will be altered from previous years in each group.

The knockout stages will still begin from the quarter finals, with the top two teams in each group qualifying for the last eight, with the two of the three third placed teams, one from each group, going through on a wild card format.

Regular Season

Braehead Clan, Dundee Stars, Edinburgh Capitals and Fife Flyers will come together to form provisionally titled Conference One.

Newcomers Guildford Flames and Milton Keynes Lightning will join Coventry Blaze and Manchester Storm in Conference Two.

Stena Line Belfast Giants, Cardiff Devils, Nottingham Panthers and Sheffield Steelers will form Conference Three.

Each team will play teams in their own conference four times at home and four times away (12 home games + 12 away games).

Each team will play teams in the other conference twice at home and twice away (16 home games + 16 away games).

This will give each team a total of 28 homes games and 28 away games for a total schedule of 56 games – up four games from last year.

Challenge Cup

The Group Stage of the Challenge Cup will remain, with the 12 teams divided in to three groups of four as follows:

Group A – Braehead Clan, Manchester Storm, Nottingham Panthers and Sheffield Steelers
Group B – Stena Line Belfast Giants, Dundee Stars, Edinburgh Capitals and Fife Flyers
Group C – Cardiff Devils, Coventry Blaze, Guildford Flames and Milton Keynes Lightning

Each team will play against teams in their own group once at home and once away (total 3 home games + 3 away games).

The top two in each group will advance to the quarter final stage of the competition, with two wild card teams completing the quarter final line up.

The wild cards will be made up of the two teams with the most points that do not automatically qualify, with normal tie breaking format to be used in the event of the teams being tied on points.

The Elite League campaign will begin during the weekend of September 9th and 10th 2017.